Skip navigation

Home Page



Two Rivers


Inspector Ramsay

Other Books

Short Stories

Signed Books

Reaching Readers



Site Map


The Rising Tide - UK edition The Rising Tide - US edition

Vera Stanhope, star of ITV's Vera, returns in the tenth novel in number one bestseller Ann Cleeves' acclaimed series.

Fifty years ago, a group of teenagers spent a weekend on Holy Island, forging a bond that has lasted a lifetime. Now, they still return every five years to celebrate their friendship, and remember the friend they lost to the rising waters of the causeway at the first reunion.

When one of them is found hanged, Vera is called in. Learning that the dead man had recently been fired after misconduct allegations, Vera knows she must discover what the friends are hiding, and whether the events of many years before could have led to murder then, and now . . .

But with the tide rising, secrets long-hidden are finding their way to the surface, and Vera and the team may find themselves in more danger than they could have believed possible . . .

The Rising Tide will be published in the UK by Macmillan on 1st September 2022 (ISBN: 978-1-5098-8961-7) and in the US by Minotaur on September 6th (ISBN: 978-1-2502-0453-0).

For a sneak preview, the first chapters of The Rising Tide are included iwith the Matthew Venn short story, The Girls on the Shore

The Crow Trap  |  Telling Tales  |  Hidden Depths  |  Silent Voices  |  The Glass Room  |  Harbour Street  |  The Moth Catcher  |  The Seagull  |  The Darkest Evening  |  This page: The Rising Tide