Skip navigation

Home Page



Two Rivers


Inspector Ramsay

Other Books

Short Stories

Signed Books

Reaching Readers



Site Map


The Sleeping and the Dead

The Sleeping and the Dead

In this vivid psychological suspense novel, a diving instructor makes a gruesome discovery in Cranwell Lake - the body of a teenager who has clearly been in the water for many years.

Detective Peter Porteous is called to the scene. After trailing through the missing persons files, he deduces that the corpse is Michael Grey, an enigmatic and secretive young man who was reported missing by his foster parents in 1972.

As the police investigation gets under way in Cranwell, on the other side of the country prison officer Hannah Morton is about to get the shock of her life. For Michael was her boyfriend, and she was with him the night he disappeared.

The news report that a body has been found brings back dreaded and long buried memories from her past...

The Sleeping and the Dead was first published in the UK in 2001. The Pan paperback edition, published in September 2013, is available from Amazon or from any bookshop or library (ISBN: 978-1-4472-4129-4).

The Kindle edition is available from Amazon UK and from Amazon.com.

The ISIS audiobook, read by John Telfer, is available from the Reading House, in a choice of formats, or as an audio download from Amazon.

Burial of Ghosts

Burial of Ghosts

For Lizzie Bartholomew, a holiday in Morocco will change life forever. But not in the way she had hoped...

Lizzie had planned her trip to Marrakech as the perfect escape from her life - and her nightmares - in Northumberland. Abandoned as a baby, and having spent her childhood moving between foster homes, Lizzie certainly has much to escape from. And for Lizzie, Morocco is the exotic paradise that she had imagined. Especially when she finds herself on a bus sitting next to a fellow tourist, who is also travelling to fulfil his dreams.

After a brief affair, Lizzie returns to England. In the days that follow, she is distracted by thoughts of her mysterious lover, hoping against hope that Philip might come and find her. But suddenly she receives a letter from a firm of solicitors. Philip Samson has died. In his will, he has left Lizzie a gift of £15,000. But there are conditions attached to this unexpected legacy, conditions that will alter the course of Lizzie's life forever...

Burial of Ghosts was first published in 2003. It has been reissued in a Pan paperback edition, published in September 2013, and is available from Amazon or from any bookshop (ISBN: 978-1-4472-4130-0).

The audio edition, read by Colleen Prendergast, is available from the Reading House in a choice of formats or from Amazon as an Audible audio download..

The Kindle edition is available from Amazon UK and from Amazon.com.

A Bird in the Hand

The George & Molly books

Ann Cleeves's first book was A Bird in the Hand, published back in 1986, featuring George Palmer-Jones, an elderly birdwatcher - helped by his wife, Molly. It was followed by more George and Molly murder mysteries. These have now all been brought back into print by Bello, Pan MacMillan's digital-only imprint, and are now available as eBooks or print on demand paperbacks.

Ann is very aware of the advances she has made as a writer since these books were published, but they have many admirers: in a review of Dead Water, the New York Times Book Review remarks "her early birding mysteries are classics."

In her online diary, Ann told her younger self "Focus on what you're good at. A BIRD IN THE HAND is a flawed first novel, but you've created some interesting characters and it contains the elements that will work well with you later - a strong sense of place and a traditional mystery with a contemporary twist. DEAD WATER covers the same territory. It explores obsession and fractured families, and both Shetland and North Norfolk have a dramatic landscape, and wild, open spaces." (Read all of Ann's letter to her younger self).